When I Hear Music <3

Standard

“I hear music in the wind,

It wakens me to sing a song of love of beauty;

A melody, a symphony.

I feel music in my heart, every song I sing;

It carries me to yesterday, a lullaby, a memory.

There are so many songs unsung, so much hope to bring.

You’ve set my life to music, I’ll sing on.

You’ve left and imprint on my heart; You’ve taught me how to love.

You’ve taught me how to live a life that’s filled with music;

A passion yet to give.

When I hear laughter, when I hear singing, when I hear music,

I think of you.”

-“When I Hear Music”, sung by the 2010 All-Ohio State Fair Youth Choir

This song never fails to prove how important music is in my life. Without the deep impression that music itself has given me and the people it has brought me to, I wouldn’t be who I am. I was so lucky to be exposed to music at such a young age; this song reminds people to think of the first person who “set their life to music.”

Music has brought me so close to some irreplaceable people in my life. Youth Choir friends, you are on my mind today as I prepare to drive to Coshocton on Saturday. Wherever life takes you, you will always find a home in music and the people you’ve reached with your song. Remember that life is a song and love is the words. If you remember that, you will never be led astray. ♥

Leave a comment